Trailer Roundup 7/11/2011

I’ve been a little busy lately and haven’t had time to get reviews up yet  of all the shows I watched this weekend.  Here are some of the trailers I was most interested in, out of the sixteen total that played before my feature presentations.  Look for these reviews to be posted over the next week: Larry Crowne, Horrible Bosses, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2.  (I’m going to see that last one at midnight on Thursday.)

Puss in Boots:  I guess this is a Shrek spin-off prequel, because it takes place before Puss joins the lovable ogre and his gang in Shrek 2.  I’m curious to see if a comic-relief character can really anchor an entire film, but it looks promising. It looks a million times more promising than the Smurfs movie or Spy Kids 4, at least.

Warrior: This is one of those inspiring underdog films, where I can already tell I’ll need to bring a tissue to wipe away tears by the end.  But which brother will I be rooting for?  I’ll have to get the full exposition before I decide, but it looks like the story is centered more around the guy played by Tom Hardy.  (He was in Inception, and he’ll be in the next installment of Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy, The Dark Knight Rises.)

 

One Day:  Okay, so this isn’t really one I’m “excited” for, more curious to see how they adapt the book, which is, (as the title might suggest), told in the context of one day over several years.  So chapter one is Juy 15, 1980-something, and the next chapter is July 15, 1980-something plus one.  It was an interesting concept, but I didn’t care for the book.  I’m hoping this might be one of those times where the movie is better.

Our Idiot Brother: This looks like one of my favorite types of movies, featuring a dysfunctional yet loving family.  The preview focuses on the comedy, but I’ll bet there will be some serious themes, too. Plus it’s got a good cast.


Captain America: This one didn’t really play before my shows this weekend, but I haven’t posted it yet and it’s one of the films I am most looking forward to for the rest of the summer, besides Harry Potter and Cowboys and Aliens.  I have only heard good things.

Leave a Reply

