Trailer (Tuesday) Wednesday 8.10.11

Okay, so I know I really should have posted this yesterday.  Also, I should have posted a few more reviews last week, but I have company at my house right now and I have not been able to watch or review anything the past few days.  Hopefully I will see Rise of the Planet of the Apes soon, though–everything I have heard about it has been positive.

This week, The Help comes out, based on the book by the same name written by Kathryn Stockett.  I have not read the book, so I cannot really comment on it.  To me it looks like a very heavy and complicated issue, (racism), is being oversimplified and portrayed with cliches all around.  Maybe that’s just the way the trailer is cut, or maybe the book is actually better, I don’t know.  Also, maybe it’s just that I’m not really an Emma Stone fan.

Also coming out this week is Final Destination 5, (no thank you), and Glee: The 3D Concert Movie, (I refuse), as well 30 Minutes or Less, (oh all right, maybe.)  “30 Minutes” is a comedy about a pizza delivery guy forced to rob a bank.  It doesn’t  look like it will be anything special to me, but my husband is looking forward to it and I will admit I laughed out loud the first time I saw this trailer at the very last line.

Coming up later, in October, is a dystopian sci-fi film called In Time.  It is set in a future where everybody stops aging at 25 and potentially could live forever, but instead of money, time is a commodity, so if you run out you die.  I think it will probably turn out to be kind of stupid, but the concept is really interesting.  It might turn out to be like Repo Men in that way.

Leave a Reply

