Digest Movies: pagelady’s Top 5 2011 Summer Movies

I know.  I’m way behind on my posts.  I actually didn’t go to the theater for three weeks in a row, if you can believe that.  If you’ve been following my Twitter you know what I’ve been watching, and I’ll try to get reviews for all of them up eventually.

I meant to post this a while ago, and summer is definitely over now so I guess it’s not too late.  Here are my top five movies (from the ones that I personally saw) for this past summer:

X-Men:First Class was just outstanding.  I loved the character development so, so much.  No question this is my favorite X-Men movie to date.  It’s probably best if you’ve seen the other X-men movies before watching this one, though.

Captain America: The First Avenger was a good old fashioned hero movie, and it was great.  Steve Rogers was such a good guy.  I can’t wait to see his struggle to maintain his optimism and virtue, having been frozen for 40 years, when he joins the rest of the Avengers crew next summer.  That. should. be. epic!

Rise of the Planet of the Apes cannot be hyped enough.  It was amazing.  Everyone raved over the special effects, and there is no question they were outstanding, but what I found most impressive was how much story (and emotion) was told by the wordless expressions of Andy Serkis’ motion-captured Caesar.

Attack the Block was awesome.  I loved it.  LOVED IT!  It was a joy to watch.  But I realize it won’t be for everyone.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 is obviously a must-watch.  I mean, it’s Harry Potter.  And it’s the last Harry Potter.  This wasn’t my favorite Potter film, (that would probably be Half Blood Prince or else Prisoner of Azkaban), and no movie will ever rival the books, but still…it’s Harry Potter.  And this was a good movie, full of great scenes.  And I’ve already aired all my grievances against it.

Leave a Reply

