Trailer Tuesday 12.20.11

It’s the holidays, one of the busiest times of the year for theaters, and there are a LOT of new releases coming out this week.  There have also been a lot of really exciting trailers released recently for things that are still a ways off; I’m including a couple of them in toda’ys super-sized post, but one of the ones I am most looking forward to is our first glimpse of Peter Jackson’s “The Hobbit,” which according to The Hobbit Blog will be released online this evening.  (I’ll probably blog about it on my pagelady site).

Advertised as “the feel bad movie of the year,” the American adaptation of Swedish best-selling book The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (by Stieg Larsson) is finally making its debut.  I feel like I’ve been seeing advertising for this one for a very long time, and I’ve already criticized some of it.  I have read the book and I will probably see the movie, but it’s very dark, populated by disturbed characters and featuring graphic violence that I’m really not looking forward to seeing visualized.

The Adventures of Tin Tin is the first in what producers hope can become the franchise to fill the Harry Potter void, based on Belgian comics that are very popular in Europe.  I’ve heard a lot of hype, mainly because of the big names behind it, but I’m reserving judgment until I see it.  It looks more cheesy than epic to me so far.

The book that War Horse is based on is not very long, so I’m going to try to read it before I see this movie, which comes out on Christmas day.  It’s a story about “a miraculous kind of an ‘orse, be my guess.”  Looks like it’s sure to be a tear-jerker.

Also premiering this week is We Bought A Zoo, which doesn’t look bad but just lacks excitement next to the all the other releases.

Finally, Ethan Hunt is back for Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol.  It looks like it will be a fun, fairly mindless action flick.

Now for the new trailers: this week we got our first ‘real’ trailer for the grand finale of Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy.  (We got a teaser trailer this summer).  This trailer premiered with Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows and wasn’t online until yesterday, so I first saw it in the theater this weekend with the giant screen and surround sound and everything.  And it. looks. fantastic!  I was kind of over the whole Batman thing, thinking there was no way they could top The Dark Knight.  But after seeing this preview I cannot wait to see The Dark Knight Rises!  It looks so relevant to our times.  (I think what they’re chanting is “This Is Our Gotham,”  and I remember hearing rumors that some filming was going to be done at or near the Occupy Wall Street protests in Zucotti park. What do you think?)

Also newly released this week was a trailer for Wrath of the Titans, a follow-up to last year’s Clash of the Titans.  The latter was…not good, (bad effects, shody 3D, an uninspiring, pretty ridiculous story), which was disappointing because the subject matter had the potential to be epic.  So, I don’t have high hopes for this sequel, especially not after seeing this trailer with its pop music and its near-complete lack of any plot clues.  This movie is not about plot.  It’s about fight scenes, with beasts, men, and gods.  At least we know what to expect.

2 thoughts on “Trailer Tuesday 12.20.11

    • oh, man, you got robbed! what did you think of Holmes otherwise? i enjoyed it but i thought the first one was tighter and therefore better, and with this one every aspect was kind of overblown. still fun though.

Leave a Reply

