Trailer Tuesday 1.10.12

I have a huge crush on Mark Wahlberg.  It started with last year’s The Fighter.  So I’m very excited about this week’s Contraband, in which Marky Mark stars as another one of the tough guys he’s so good at portraying.  “You think you’re the only guy with a gun!?”  “Oh I’m comin’!  I’m comin’ for you!”  I can’t wait!

Also premiering this week is The Iron Lady, starring Meryl Streep as England’s first female prime minister Margaret Thatcher.  Although it has been generating awards buzz (mainly for Meryl, of course), I honestly had not seen a full trailer for it until just now.  And now I totally want to see it.  Historical girl power!

Also this week is Joyful Noise, starring Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton.  It’s kind of a musical, I mean I’m pretty sure it will feature several musical numbers since it is about a church choir competing to win a contest.  It looks rather predictable.

It’s been out for awhile, but I’m hoping to finally see My Week With Marylin this week.  Michelle Williams’ performance as Marylin Monroe has been generating a lot of buzz, including a nomination for this Sunday’s Golden Globe awards.

Here’s my ballot for this year’s Golden Globes, although I haven’t seen everything that is nominated yet.  (I really really need to see The Artist!)  My votes are usually a hybrid of “what I personally liked” and “what I’ve heard has the most buzz/what won other awards recently”.  (Example: I always vote for Tina Fey, no matter what.  But then I’m voting for Modern Family for Comedy or Musical TV series even though I’ve never watched it, because it won at this year’s Emmys.)  You can download your own ballot at this link.  It’s not a full ballot, (it doesn’t have any of the songs, for example,) but it’s the only one I can find online right now.  The Globes are great fun, especially when hosted by Ricky Gervais, as they will be this year for the third year in a row.

Leave a Reply

