Trailer Tuesday 2.7.12

Yes yes, the Oscars have been announced, and I know I’m way behind in posting my reviews of all the 9 best picture nominees.  (I still haven’t seen two of them).  I’m sorry!  I will try to get them up before February 26.

Meanwhile, look at all these cool new trailers that debuted during the Super Bowl!

Act of Valor, starring and based on the exploits of real-life Navy Seals.  No doubt production support for this project was approved in the wake of the bin Laden’s demise.

The Avengers looks awesome!  “We have a Hulk.”  Eeeeeeee I can’t wait!

The Hunger Games got a new trailer, but it’s pretty similar to the first one.  Still just setting up the premise, and with-holding Peeta from us.  I just hope that’s not because he’s subpar…please please please let them get Peeta right…

Battleship, a movie based on the classic board game.  “From the Hasbro company that brought you TRANSFORMERS,” blares the first text card, which tells me all I need to know about how dumb I can expect this plot to be.

John Carter, unlike Battleship, is a movie that I desperately want to see, and ironically both movies star the same actor. (Taylor Kitsch).

The Dictator is another faux-documentary by Sacha Baron Cohen.  I’ll say the same thing I’ve said to all the others, (Borat, Bruno, etc.); no thanks.

G.I. Joe: Retaliation is I guess the sequel to G.I. Joe: Rise of the Cobra, which was a pretty dumb action movie.  This looks the same except with possibly cooler fight scenes, (on the side of a cliff?!)

And finally, The Lorax, based on the Dr. Seuss tale of the same name.  It isn’t exactly targeting the same audience as any of the rest of the Super Bowl trailers this year!

Leave a Reply

