Trailer Tuesday 6.5.12

The big movie hitting theaters this week is Prometheus, a sci-fi story involving space flight, androids, and potential aliens.  The title refers to the name of the spaceship, but it is also the name of a character in Greek mythology that stole fire from Zeus and gave it to humans, for which he was punished.  According to Wikipedia, “Prometheus became a figure who represented human striving, particularly the quest for scientific knowledge, and the risk of overreaching or unintended consequences.” (source).  The trailer certainly does seem to be setting up a story about human arrogance and the consequences of a quest for knowledge, and I hope the film provides some good discussion questions, (besides living up to its nerd-hype).

Also opening this week is Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted.  I haven’t seen either of the previous Madagascar movies, but I know a lot of people enjoy them, and I have to admit that the “circus afro” song makes me laugh every time.

Earlier this week we got our first look at the trailer for The Perks of Being a Wallflower, an adaptation of the book by the same name.  This book has been on my to-read list, and seeing this trailer has definitely made me more interested in reading it soon. I would have been interested in this movie anyway, because it features Emma Watson in one of her first post-Potter roles.

New movies on DVD today include John Carter and Safe House, both of which I enjoyed, and Act of Valor and Machine Gun Preacher, neither of which I have seen yet, although I would like to.

Leave a Reply

