Trailer Tuesday 6.19.12

Lots of movies coming out this week!  The one I’m most excited for is Brave, Pixar’s latest film (and their first to feature a female protagonist).  I love archery, I love girl power, I love Pixar films and I love listening to regional accents, (Scottish in this case), so I think it’s safe to assume I will love this film.

Also debuting this week, with a very different tone from Brave, is Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.  Based on the novel by Seth Grahame-Smith, (who also penned Pride and Prejudice and Zombies,) it’s a mix of historical fact and fanciful fiction, in this case the blood-sucking kind. It’s going to be very violent, and Lincoln is going to be a badass hero, just in a slightly different way than he was in real life.

If you want something a little lighter than a Civil War with the undead, how about an apocalyptic comedy?  Steve Carrell and Kiera Knightly star in Seeking a Friend for the End of the World.  I like both of those actors but for some reason I’m just not very excited about this film.  Maybe it’s because its a comedy, my second-to-least favorite genre.

To Rome With Love debuts this week as well, but it’s a Woody Allen film and I usually hate them, so I’ll show you instead the trailer for a film near and dear to my heart that is being newly released on DVD and Blu-Ray for its 20th anniversary: Newsies.  I don’t care how good the new Batman movie is, this will always be my favorite Christian Bale movie.  Carryin’ the banner!

Leave a Reply

