Trailer (Tuesday) Wednesday 10.24.12

I’m a day late this week (and haven’t posted a new review in about two weeks, shame on me,) but here we go with this week’s trailers.  Yesterday we got our first look at Iron Man 3 which I am definitely excited for.  I like that they mention The Avengers, when Tony says “nothin’s been the same since New York.”  It definitely looks like our beloved reckless and egotistical hero is going to be struggling through some heavy difficulties this time.

Coming to theaters this week is Cloud Atlas, based on the book of the same name which I am about 70% done reading.  I’m planning to finish the book before I see the film, so I may not get to it this weekend, but I’m definitely curious to see how the story is adapted for the screen.  The book follows a chiastic structure, meaning the beginning corresponds to the end, the second section to the second-to-last, and so forth, centering around the middle.  It deals with several individuals living at different times in history and the future who are, (I think, not having finished it yet), reincarnated versions of the same souls.  I think that’s why the actors play several parts in the different time periods for the movie.  The title comes from this passage, in the middle section of the book:

Souls cross ages like clouds cross skies, an’ tho’ a cloud’s shape nor hue nor size don’t stay the same, it’s still a cloud an’ so is a soul.  Who can say where the cloud’s blowed from or who the soul’ll be ‘morrow?  Only Sonmi the east an’ the west an’ the compass an’ the atlas, yay, only the atlas o’ clouds.

It will be interesting to finish the book and see what it and the movie conclude.  The idea of reincarnation doesn’t fit with the Bible, but there are some other themes I think the story holds that might.

Also new in theaters this week is Chasing Mavericks, which I really haven’t heard much about and hadn’t even heard of until a few weeks ago.  When I first saw this trailer I thought it looked cheesy and predictable, but when it got to the part where Gerard Butler’s on-screen wife says, “There are all kinds of sons for us T, some are born to you, some just occur to you,” I was emotionally sold on seeing this movie, even if it does turn out to be exactly as predictable as it looks.  Like it looks like the kind of movie that will feature a Hogwarts cheer in the conclusion, doesn’t it?

New on DVD this week is Magic Mike, about which I would just say, would you go to a strip club in real life?  If the answer is no, don’t bother watching this, ever.  There is no difference and the story is not worth it.  Also on DVD is Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, which was not as epic as I thought it would be but still enjoyable and kinda fun if you don’t mind ridiculously gratuitous violence and re-imagined history.  I’m definitely more excited for Steven Spielberg’ Lincolnthat we’ll get next month than I am for this DVD; check out the trailer below.  His words were so powerful, they just give me chills:

One thought on “Trailer (Tuesday) Wednesday 10.24.12

Leave a Reply

